This is me… finding ME

I guess that I am at the age or time in my life where I really NEED to know who I am. All of this time I really thought that I knew already. I have always been:  a proud, Black woman; a mother to 7 kids (4 that I birthed and 3 that I was blessed with through marriage); a student; a mentor; an employee; and a beloved family member and friend. Lately, I have been wondering “Who am I?” Outside of all of those roles and titles – who am I?

This all started when I let go of yet another job (there have been many) and decided that the reason for that is that I need to be my own boss. I need to do something that matters to me. But what really matters to me? Do I really know? I mean, of course, God, family, friends, love, belonging… the usual stuff, but what do I want? What do I want to do? What will my legacy be?

That train of thought led me to start thinking of opening my own business – but doing what? I had to think about what I am extremely good at and what I could make money doing… The thing that jumped out at me was storytelling. I have been doing that since I could remember and I have written books, but not attempted to get any of them published. I must admit that I am also extremely afraid of the criticism that comes with the world of writing and publishing. I am also pretty good at teaching others, but what could I teach them? I have been in the business world for over 20 years and have a degree in Business Management, so I decided to try my hand at consulting. I am still in the beginning phases, but I must admit that I am more excited about this than I have been about anything in a long time. So, Elzy Enterprises was born and I am currently reworking my novel in order to appeal to more people. I am very excited!

I have been doing a lot of reading and all signs have been pointing to developing a life plan. That will answer a lot of questions that I have about me and the direction that my life is taking. Therefore, the new chapter begins…

 

Leave a Reply

